New to the Fourm with a Question

Topics related to Post - 1898 Remington Rifles
sfcjcl

New to the Fourm with a Question

Post by sfcjcl »

Hello,
I am new to the Fourm and have a question for the Collector's out there. Picked up a Woodmaster 742 in 30.06 the other day at a pawn shop. She was someone's closet queen. Anyway, I paid $340.00 including tax with the gun at a SOLID 98%. Here's my question---I dated out the serial number (277064) and it dates out to 1960. I realize pictures would help and will upload some when I get home, but what do you think??? Is she worth a "premium" due to the year of production and condition to a collector???

Plus, she is the ADL, according to Gene Myszkowski's article.

Thanks for your opinions
John Gyde

Re: New to the Fourm with a Question

Post by John Gyde »

[quote="sfcjcl"]Hello,
I am new to the Fourm and have a question for the Collector's out there. Picked up a Woodmaster 742 in 30.06 the other day at a pawn shop. She was someone's closet queen. Anyway, I paid $340.00 including tax with the gun at a SOLID 98%. Here's my question---I dated out the serial number (277064) and it dates out to 1960. I realize pictures would help and will upload some when I get home, but what do you think??? Is she worth a "premium" due to the year of production and condition to a collector???

Plus, she is the ADL, according to Gene Myszkowski's article.

Thanks for your opinions[/quote]

I doubt that there would be much premium if any. The 742 in -06 is a pretty common rifle. One was used by my dad in Michigan & we had a fair amount of venison on the table.
The Gamemaster

Post by The Gamemaster »

As previously stated - this forum is more of a help section then an appraisal service.
We don't appraise firearms here, but we do talk about them.

The Woodsmaster had a bad reputation for being slow to cycle, jams and shoddy craftsmanship.

The Gamemaster was a much better firearm from the perspective of looks, functionality, and durability.