Purchasing a remington 1100 need advice

Topics related to Post - 1898 Remington Shotguns
malbert01

Purchasing a remington 1100 need advice

Post by malbert01 »

Was interested in getting a remington 1100. I'm new to shooting and have been going for a few months with a friends gun.

I wanted to get an 1100 but realized there many different models: Competition, G3, Classic, Sporting, and Trap models.

Personally the G3 is the one I've seen at the store and the one thats caught my attention the most. It also is the model with the most chokes and a carrying case. However do any of you veteran shooters suggest a different type or model?
Virginian

Re: Purchasing a remington 1100 need advice

Post by Virginian »

What are you planning to use it for? If you are not going hunting, you do not need a 3" chamber, but if you are, the G3 is your only new Model 1100 choice, in 12 or 20 gauge, it appears to me. It appears to me to be a very well made gun, and it has the overbored barrel and matching choke tubes. I have not heard anything bad about it, and for that money I should hope not.
If all you want to do is bust clay pigeons, in new guns, the Competition, Trap, Skeet, or Sporting models are all very good guns, and may be more reliable with real light loads as they are 2-3/4" only.
There are also some Classic Field models, discontinued but still new in the box, available around, and they are a whole lot cheaper for what I condsider a very nice gun.
If you are thinking used, anything imaginable is out there.
I have 5: a 1966 12ga. Magnum, a 1963 12ga standard, a 1978 LT-20 Magnum, a 1977 28ga, and a 2005 Youth Model and would not hesitate to recommend any of them.
What could have happened... did.
malbert01

Post by malbert01 »